CalOES Safety Assessment Program

October 16, 2017

Friday, November 3
8AM-1:30PM | AIA Portland

$15

Attend!

Coffee and water provided. Feel free to bring your lunch!

No CEUs offered at this training.

Based on ATC-20/45 methodologies and forms, the SAP training course provides engineers, architects and code-enforcement professionals with the basic skills required to perform safety assessments of structures following disasters. Licensed design professionals and certified building officials will be eligible for SAP Evaluator certification and credentials following completion of this program and submission of required documentation.

This California Office of Emergency Services (CalOES) Safety Assessment Program (SAP), presented by the National Council of Structural Engineering Associations (NCSEA), is one of only two post-disaster assessment programs that will be compliant with the requirements of the forthcoming Federal Resource Typing Standards for engineer emergency responders.

Presenter: Jason Spotts, P.E., is a civil engineer with the California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services. He served six years as a civil engineer in the United States Navy’s Civil Engineer Corps. His duties included responding to emergencies or planning and preparing for humanitarian assistance and disaster response incidents. Prior to serving in the military, he worked for a geotechnical engineering firm in Glenwood Springs, CO and a civil design firm in Chico, CA. Jason also has four years of experience as a fire fighter, with two years of that as an EMT.

The times will be 8:00 am Pacific, 9:00 am Mountain, 10:00 am Central, and 11:00 am Eastern

SCHEDULE

PDT time

08:00 a.m.            Sign in & Additional Paperwork

08:15 a.m.            Webinar Begins – Introduction

WEBINAR I

08:30 a.m.            Chapter 1: Safety Assessment Program Overview

09:30 a.m.            Chapter 2: Safety Assessment Process, Procedures

10:30 a.m.            15-minute break

WEBINAR II

10:45 a.m.             Chapter 3: Building Evaluations

11:30 a.m.             Chapter 5: Lifeline Systems and Facilities

12:00 p.m.            Chapter 6: Non-Earthquake Hazards

12:30 p.m.            Chapter 7: Field Safety

01:00 p.m.            15 minute break
01:15 p.m.             Chapter 4: Exercise and Review
02:30 p.m.            Webinar Adjourns